The Five Love Languages through Community Action
Share This Page
Cruise Ships Cape Canaveral

The Five Love Languages through Community Action

The Five Love Languages through Community Action

Recently, I met with Brevard Family Partnership (BFP) as I considered becoming a foster parent, and since that time, I have contemplated the role of community action using “The Five Love Languages” from the book by Gary Chapman.

Protecting children, strengthening families and changing lives is the core of Brevard Family Partnership’s mission in Brevard County. They achieve those goals through the prevention of child abuse and the operation and management of an integrated, community-based system of care for abused, abandoned and neglected children and their families. 

According to Chapman, we all have an emotional love tank, invisible to the human eye but felt by the human heart. Every person has their own unique love language — a method of giving and receiving love — that when “spoken,” will fill up that tank. In his book, Chapman explains that people express and understand love through five languages: 

  • Quality time
  • Acts of service
  • Words of affirmation
  • Physical touch
  • Receiving gifts

Incorporating the five love languages in our community can leave a legacy through positive impact. As we enter the holiday season, here’s how you can use your personal love language to make an impact.

Quality time

A person with this love language enjoys spending time with others and making memories. 

In Action:

Spend quality time with your family and friends by joining together to sponsor a child or multiple children for Christmas. Get into the holiday frame of mind by picking out the “perfect” gift sure to bring a smile to a child on Christmas morning.

Acts of service

This person feels happy when people support them with actions, and they enjoy helping others.

In Action:

Volunteer with an organization during the holiday season. Helping those less fortunate can fill your tank to the brim!

Words of affirmation

This person enjoys receiving positive words via text, email, phone calls or in writing.

In Action: 

Spend time writing personalized Christmas letters to friends, family, and new acquaintances.  

Physical touch

A person with this love language has a need to hug or hold hands and enjoys a “good job” pat on the back. However, this love language is challenging while maintaining social distance due to COVID-19. 

In Action:

Elbow taps, toe taps, and air high fives are some newer, more socially distant ways to express yourself.  

Giving/receiving gifts

This person will experience joy when they are giving or receiving tokens of appreciation unexpectedly. 

In Action: Sponsoring a child for a holiday gift drive will bring joy to those who speak this language. Picking out the perfect “something” and imagining the joy on their face Christmas morning will fill your tank.


Interested in helping a child or family this holiday season? 

Brevard Family Partnership has a wishlist of items for children in need. 

Visit or email 

Curious to what your love language is? Take the free online quiz:

Next up:

For the January magazine, Lori will write about love languages for those in the military.


Lori Marie Huertas, a local bilingual family therapist with military family specialization, is sharing a series of articles with readers to explore how the five love languages  — acts of service, quality time, physical touch, gifts and words of affirmation — impact teachers, military families, husbands and wives, the workplace and children.


Read more articles in our digital magazine.


« Back

Indian River Antique Mall L.H. Tanner Construction